Home » Other » General » invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER (Oracle dB 12c, oracle linux 7)
invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER [message #656289] Sun, 02 October 2016 03:50 Go to next message
Janning

Hi,

Let me start by saying, I'm not really a beginner at all this, but by no means an expert. I have Oracle 12c enterprise set up on a Oracle Enterprise Linux ver 7 box.
This has always worked fine, start Linux, from a terminal window
[oracle@oradev ~]$ sqlplus /nologSQL> conn SYS as SYSDBA
Enter password: xxxxx
startup
lsnrctl start

All was well. I have this running on VMware® Workstation 12 Pro, 12.5.0 build-4352439. I recently updated VMware...now when I get to
startup I get:
SQL> startup
ORA-00119: invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER
ORA-00130: invalid listener address '(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=oradev.attlocal.net)(PORT=1522))'
SQL>

I believe my host name in oracle Linux (which is on VM ware, so maybe is in VM ware setting, this all started after updating VM ware)
is not the same, somehow is in my listener.ora ? It looks ok below to me, but as I said, I'm not expert level

I've taken many notes and screen shots, which can be seen at

http://www.aanning.com/ajissues/oracle_startup_faq/

Please advise?
James
Re: invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER [message #656290 is a reply to message #656289] Sun, 02 October 2016 05:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Create a pfile from the spfile, edit it to remove the local_listener parameter, re-create the spfile from the modified pfile, startup the instance. Take it from there.
Re: invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER [message #656291 is a reply to message #656290] Sun, 02 October 2016 06:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Janning

Is this to address a possible corrupt SPRILE?
I don't know how to create a pfile from the spfile..then you use the to create the file it came from?